OhinemuriRiver2 bg

Hot Topics

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Kerbside Collections

Week 1 begins Monday 27 March 2017

Drainage Committee Elections

Nominations for Land Drainage Advisory Committees close 4pm Friday 31 March

06/03/2017 9:00am

Re-Establishing Committee Membership for 2017 – 2020 Term

DrainageDistrictsMap m [PDF, 563 KB]The triennial elections for Council’s drainage district committees will be held in March-April this year.

Council operates three drainage advisory committees to oversee the land drainage operations to provide for the effective and efficient discharge of Council’s land drainage responsibilities on the Hauraki Plains and around Paeroa.

The principal purposes of the committees are to be a local focus and ratepayer contact for land drainage issues. They facilitate the flow of information between landowners and staff, provide input to the capital and maintenance programmes, asset management plans and rating systems for land drainage. The committees consider and recommend on matters relevant to land drainage in their areas.

The three drainage districts are:

Western Plains - land west of the Piako River to SH 27, and north to Miranda
Eastern Plains - land between the Piako and Waihou Rivers
Paeroa Rural - land between the Waihou River and SH 26 north of Paeroa, and between the Waihou and Ohinemuri Rivers south of Paeroa.

Each Committee comprises local landowner representatives from the separate subdivisions, and an appointed Councillor. Each Committee elects a Chair and Deputy.

Formal notice of the call for nominations was advertised publicly on 24 February. In the event of more candidates being nominated than are required; an election may be held in April. Information packs, including maps of the drainage districts, for interested ratepayers will be available at Council offices in Paeroa and Ngatea in March.

Each candidate shall be a drainage ratepayer in one of the respective subdivisions and be nominated by a resident drainage ratepayer within that subdivision. It is expected that those elected will serve for a three-year term.

Further information and nomination forms are available below.

Drainage Committees Nomination Requirements

Each candidate shall be a drainage ratepayer in one of the respective subdivisions described below and be nominated by a drainage ratepayer within that subdivision. It is expected that those elected will serve for approximately a three-year term (to March 2020). Each Drainage Advisory Committee will have the standing of a Committee reporting to Council.

Western Plains Drainage District
Waitakaruru/Miranda 1 Member
Pipiroa 1 Member
Rawerawe 1 Member
Ngatea/Puhunga 1 Member
Pouarua/Waikumete 1 Member
Kaihere/Torehape 1 Member
Patetonga/Mangawhero 2 Members
Pouarua/Maukoro Scheme 1 Member

Eastern Plains Drainage District

Orongo/Kopuarahi  1 Member
Horahia 1 Member
Huirau 1 Member
Wharepoa 1 Member
Awaiti West 1 Member
Awaiti East  1 Member
Netherton West 1 Member
Netherton East 1 Member
Paeroa Rural Drainage District
Komata North 2 Members
Opukeko 1 Member
Tirohia/Rotokohu 2 Members
Map of Drainage Districts 

A map showing the respective drainage districts and the subdivisions within drainage districts can be downloaded below and is also available for inspection at Council’s Ngatea and Paeroa offices.

Nomination forms

A nomination form can be downloaded below and are also available at Council offices. 

Nominations close 4.00 pm Friday 31 March 2017

In the event that more nominations are received than there are vacancies, an election may be held within the ratepayer electorate of the respective subdivision.

In the event that there are no nominees in any particular subdivision, Council may appoint or second a member to ensure fair and equitable representation.