SceneryCarHouse fade

Hot Topics

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Proposed Project Martha

Planners reports from HDC and WRC for consideration at the hearing are now available.

Proposed Wind Farm

Submissions now open

Swimming Season

Ngatea, Paeroa and Waihi pools are now open. Take the plunge.

It's more than just a job

View our latest job vacancies and apply online.

Kerbside Collections

Week 2 begins Monday 10 December 2018

The Hauraki District Council elected members include the Mayor and 12 Councillors  - four elected from the Paeroa Ward, four from the Plains Ward and four from the Waihi Ward.


Mayor John Tregidga
District Mayor    

 Mr John P Tregidga MNZM JP 
 (07) 862 8956 

 Policy and Iwi portfolios 


Paeroa Ward

 Deputy Mayor Toby Adams
Councillor & Deputy Mayor   

Mr Toby Adams
027 808 4217

Roading; Finance portfolios

Councillor Carole Daley

Mrs Carole Daley
(07) 862 7253

Property portfolio 

Councillor Paul Milner


Councillor & Chairperson of Paeroa Ward   

Mr Paul A Milner
021 0515 799

Policy, RMA and Regulatory portfolios  

Councillor James Thorp

Mr James Thorp
(07) 862 7782  

Drainage portfolio


Plains Ward

Councillor Phillip Buckthought

Mr Phillip Buckthought
(07) 862 6277

Civil Defence portfolio

Councillor Ross Harris

Mr Ross Harris
027 291 6469

Water/Wastewater/Stormwater; Community Growth portfolios

Councillor Gill Leonard
Councillor & Chairperson of Plains Ward

Mrs Gill Leonard JP
(07) 867 7535

Community Facilities portfolio

Councillor Don Swales

Mr Donald H Swales
027 667 7021 




Waihi Ward

Councillor Max McLean
Councillor & Chairperson of Waihi Ward

Mr Max P McLean
(07) 863 5151

Community Recreation (Sport) portfolio

Councillor Austin Rattray

Mr Austin Rattray
021 060 1742

Councillor Duncan Smeaton

Mr Duncan Smeaton
(07) 863 7821

Solid Waste portfolio

Councillor Anne Marie Spicer

Mrs Anne Marie Spicer
021 02536559

Community Initiatives portfolio