Scenery Car House

Hot Topics

COVID-19 Council Services

Our services at Orange settings.

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Kerbside Collections

Week 2 begins Monday 4 July 2022

We Need To Talk

See the topics we're consulting on...

Tirohia Landfill Resource Consent

View information about this application.

New mining proposals

OceanaGold presents proposal to extend mining life in Waihi to 2037 and beyond

OnYa banner1050

Hauraki District Council ONYA Awards 2021

The ONYA Awards are a refresh and rebrand of our previously named Citizen and Young Achiever Awards.

Every year we hold an awards evening, where members of the community are acknowledged and celebrated for the incredible achievements and positive difference they have made within their communities through their outstanding dedication and community spirit.

We postponed the Awards in 2020, due to COVID, so we took the opportunity to refresh the look and feel of the way we say "good on ya".

It’s our way of saying Good OnYa – you’ve made a difference.

We wanted the name of the awards to reflect that. Just like the Oscars, we think the ONYA's will become instantly recognisable as the local award that celebrates the best of our community champions.

We wanted to refresh, broaden the scope and be more inclusive in the way we acknowledge and celebrate outstanding community service within the Hauraki District

So we’ve removed age limits to recognise anyone of any age doing something special in any of our award categories:

ONYA - for caring about your community - Individual award for service to the community

ONYA- for working together to make a difference - Community group award for service to the community

ONYA - for knocking it out of the park - Award for service or achievement in Sport or Recreation

ONYA- for enhancing and enriching our lives - Award for service or achievement in Arts or Culture


The Council's Special Awards Working Party will also decide the recipient of the OnYa - Tu Meke award, chosen from the successful nominees in the four categories.

ONYA- Tu Meke / for going above and beyond - Special award for outstanding service to the community


Nominations for 2021 are now closed. Awards will be presented at a special awards event.

  • The nominee must be a resident of the Hauraki District at the time of service or achievement.
  • The services for which the nominee is recommended must be related to activity within the Hauraki District, or activity directly benefiting the Hauraki District.
  • A nomination may be withdrawn if, in the opinion of the Special Awards Working Party, the required standard has not been achieved.
  • An Award may recognise achievement, service or outstanding long term service to a community; or
  • Any other activity or action that is considered worthy of award by Council.
Awards will be granted:
  • After presentation of a nomination by at least two nominators.
  • After approval by the Council Special Awards Working Party.

The decision of Council is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Awards will be presented at a special Council awards event.

Awards will not be presented posthumously.

Previous recipients of the Citizen and Young Achiever Awards are not eligible.

Award Recipients

View OnYa Award recipients

View previous recipients of the Young Achiever Awards

View previous recipients of the Citizens Awards

ONYA Awards

In the Hauraki district we care about each other, we care about looking after the environment and we care about keeping our communities vibrant and safe.

It takes a big team effort to build a future with connected people, healthy environments, and a strong economy.

Our OnYa Awards recognise our star players – the people making a positive difference in our communities in so many different ways. People who don’t usually seek the limelight but deserve to be acknowledged.

Toby Adams, JP
Mayor – Hauraki District

Mayor Toby Adams


Nominations for 2021 are now closed.

Need to know more?

For more information about the ONYA Awards view our

Frequently Asked Questions