Scenery Car House

Hot Topics

COVID-19 Council Updates

Our services at Alert Level 1.

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Kerbside Collections

Week 2 begins Monday 26 October 2020. Collections will be 1 day later this week due to the Labour day public holiday.

Proposed Plan Change 4

Submissions are available to view and further submissions are open until 16 Nov.

Ngatea Footpath Project

Read our e-newsletter updates

We Need To Talk

Opportunities to tell us your thoughts...

New mining proposal

New Waihi mining proposal shared with Council


Love Hauraki

Support Local

Local government elections are held once every three years nationwide. The last local elections were on Saturday 12 October 2019.


Final 2019 election results 

The final results are available now.

View the
FINAL election results arrow

Votes Returned

As at 12 October (final)

Voters Returned Percentage
Paeroa 4500 2421 53.8%
Plains 4278 1915 44.8%
Waihi 5566 2659 47.8%
Total District 14344 6995 48.77%
Voting period

The voting period is three weeks (Friday 20 September 2019 to noon Saturday 12 October 2019). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document.

Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 20 September 2019 to noon Saturday 12 October 2019 at all Council offices.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by noon Saturday 12 October 2019. We recommend hand delivery to our council offices after 8 October.

Progress results will be known early afternoon, and preliminary results will be known early on Sunday morning, 13 October 2019. These will be accessible here on Council’s website.

To be elected

  • A Mayor elected at large across the District
  • Councillors (13)
    • 4 councillors elected by the electors of the Plains Ward
    • 4 councillors elected by the electors of the Paeroa Ward
    • 5 councillors elected by the electors of the Waihi Ward
  • Waikato Regional Council Members (either 2 members from the Waihou General Constituency or 1 member from the Thames-Coromandel General Constituency or 1 member from the Nga Tai Ki Uta Maori Constituency)
  • District Health Board Members (7 members from the Counties Manukau District Health Board; no 2019 election to be held for Waikato District Health Board due to commissioner being appointed).
Vote2019 sm

Are you enrolled to vote?

You should have received your enrolment papers in the post by now. If you are not enrolled to vote you have until 11 October to do so. Check your enrolment details or get enrolled:

  • visit Vote NZ
  • call 0800 36 76 56
  • visit any Post Shop for an enrolment form. 

Contact us

Election servicesFor further information regarding this election, please contact the electoral office:

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer
Hauraki District Council
C/o PO Box 5135,
Wellesley Street,
Auckland 1141

Phone: 0800 922 822

More information

If you would like more information on how the First Past the Post (FPP) voting system works, please check the Department of Internal Affairs' website at

For information on councils in general go to

For more information on the pōtitanga ā-rohe (local elections) go to


Hauraki wards map2

View a larger image showing the Wards