Scenery Car House

Hot Topics

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Enviro Matters

Waste minimisation and climate change information

Kerbside Collections

Week 1 begins Monday 18 November 2019

We need to talk

Check out the issues we’re currently seeking feedback on and tell us what you think.
20/08/2019 11:00am

Twenty-four people have thrown their hats in the ring for this year’s Local Government Elections in the Hauraki District.

Nominations for candidates closed on August 16.

Two people have entered the race for Mayor: Toby Adams and Josie Anderson.

Elections In It For NZ


The Wards

In the Waihi Ward, 10 are standing for five seats: Paul Anderson, Brian Gentil, Brian Habberfield, Julian Honey, Sara Howell, Austin Rattray, Alan Scott, Duncan Smeaton, Danny Sparks and Anne Marie Spicer.

Five people have put their names forward for four seats in the Plains Ward: Ray Broad, Phillip Buckthought, Tara Larking, Rodney Garrett and Ross Harris.

In the Paeroa Ward, there are seven in the race for four seats: Josie Anderson, Carole Anne Daley, Josey McKain, Paul Milner, Elaine Marie Rattigan, Jo Tilsley and Rino Wilkinson.

Voting information

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from Friday 20 September, 2019. The voting period is three weeks, from Friday 20 September, 2019, to noon on Saturday 12 October, 2019.

Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document.

Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available at all Council offices from Friday 20 September, 2019, to noon Saturday 12 October, 2019.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by noon Saturday 12 October, 2019.


Progress results will be known early afternoon, and preliminary results will be known early on Sunday morning, 13 October, 2019. These will be accessible on Council’s website:

Also view: