Scenery Car House

Hot Topics

COVID-19 Council Services

Our services at Alert Level 2.

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Kerbside Collections

Week 2 begins Monday 27 September 2021

Three Waters Reform

Government’s proposed changes

We Need To Talk

See the topics we're consulting on...

Tirohia Landfill Resource Consent

View information about this application.

New mining proposals

OceanaGold presents proposal to extend mining life in Waihi to 2037 and beyond

30/07/2021 8:00am

The ONYA Awards are a total refresh and rebrand of our previously named Citizens and Young Achiever Awards.

Every year we hold an awards evening, where members of the community are acknowledged and celebrated for the incredible achievements and positive difference they have made within their communities through their outstanding dedication and community spirit.

Our ONYA Awards recognise our star players – the people making a positive difference in our communities in so many different ways. People who don’t usually seek the limelight, but deserve to be acknowledged.

It’s our way of saying Good OnYa – you’ve made a difference!

In the Hauraki District, we care about each other, we care about looking after the environment and we care about keeping our communities vibrant and safe.

It takes a big team effort to build a future with connected people, healthy environments, and a strong economy.

We wanted the name and essence of the awards to reflect that.

Just like the Oscars represent the best of the arts, we think the ONYA’s will become memorable as the local award that celebrates the best of our community champions.

We postponed the Awards in 2020, due to COVID, so we took the opportunity to refresh the look and feel of the way we say “good on ya”.

We also wanted to broaden the scope of the awards and be more inclusive in the way we acknowledge and celebrate outstanding community service within the Hauraki District.


What's different?

Previously, we had awards for Citizens (aged over 25) and Young Achievers (aged 13- 25) and there were requirements for a minimum length of service. There were also restrictions on how many nominations any one entity could submit.

We want the ONYA Awards to be as inclusive as possible, so we’ve removed these restrictions. Now you can nominate anyone of any age doing something special in any of our award categories, no matter how long they’ve been doing it!

There’s an OnYa category for every shining star.  Nominations are open for:

OnYa – for caring about your community – Individual award for service to the community;

OnYa – for working together to make a difference – Community group award for service to the community;

OnYa – for knocking it out of the park – Award for service or achievement in Sport or Recreation;

OnYa – for enhancing and enriching our lives – Award for service or achievement in Arts or Culture;


The Council’s Special Awards Working Party will also decide the recipient of the OnYa – Tu Meke award, chosen from the successful nominees in the four categories

 OnYa -Tu Meke / for going above and beyond – Special award for outstanding service to the community Who can make a nomination?

  • Any member of the community can nominate a person they think is worthy of a Hauraki District Council ONYA Award. Another person must second the nomination.
  • An executive officer of any bona fide organisation, association, club, or society based in the Hauraki District. Another executive officer must second the nomination.


Who can’t make a nomination?

Members of Council’s Special Awards Working party, who decide on the winners.

What must be included in the nomination?

We want to hear all about the nominee’s achievement and involvement, so make sure you tell us everything about what makes their contribution special, not just their official title or duties.

You can include photographs, testimonials or any other supporting documentation.

A nomination form must be signed by:

  1. two residents of the District, or
  2. two executive officers of a bona fide organisation, association, club, or society.
Who can be nominated?

The ONYA Awards recognize substantial service (usually of a voluntary nature or beyond normal employment) or achievement within the Hauraki community.

In exceptional circumstances, an award may be granted to a non-Hauraki resident, if the service has been carried out wholly or predominantly in the Hauraki District.

If at first you don’t succeed, try again! Nominations are not a one time thing. If someone you nominated wasn’t an award recipient, they can be nominated again in subsequent years.

Nominees who have previously received a New Zealand National Honour are still eligible for an ONYA Award nomination.

Past recipients and nominees tell us that the honour of being nominated meant a lot to them, so make sure your hero doesn’t go unsung. You’ve got the power to shine a light on them.

Where can I get nomination forms?

Hard copies of the nomination forms as well as guidelines and FAQs will be available from our offices and libraries, or you can download them from our website

When do nominations close?

All nominations must be received by 4pm, Tuesday 31 August 2021

Award evening

We’ll celebrate the successful recipients and nominees at a special award evening in October.

Still have questions? Check out the FAQ’s for everything you need to know.

OnYa Poster