Scenery Car House

Hot Topics

COVID-19 Council Updates

Our services at Alert Level 1.

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Kerbside Collections

Week 2 begins Monday 26 October 2020. Collections will be 1 day later this week due to the Labour day public holiday.

Proposed Plan Change 4

Submissions are available to view and further submissions are open until 16 Nov.

Ngatea Footpath Project

Read our e-newsletter updates

We Need To Talk

Opportunities to tell us your thoughts...

New mining proposal

New Waihi mining proposal shared with Council


Love Hauraki

Support Local

Awards for Community Service and Outstanding Community Service are presented to citizens living within the Hauraki District who have made valuable contributions to the community over many years.

Recipients of these awards in recent years are listed below.

Hauraki District Council Coat of Arms


Outstanding Community Service
  • Doreen McLeod
  • Keith Trembath
Community Service
  • Margarete Ford
  • Jill Hack
  • Allan Jenkinson
  • Valda Laurich
  • Rita Rawson
  • Jolene Tilsley
  • Margaret Waters
  • Brent Willoughby
Citizens Awards2019

2019 Citizens Award recipients, Back row: Deputy Mayor Toby Adams, left, Allan Jenkinson, Valda Laurich, Keith Trembath (Outstanding Citizen Award), Doreen McLeod (OCA), Glen Willoughby (on behalf of Brent Willoughby). Front Row: Margaret Waters, left, Jolene Tilsley, Jill Hack, Rita Rawson, Margarete Ford.



Outstanding Community Service
  • Keven Caddy
Community Service
  • Elaine Jones
  • Janine Archer
  • Diane Keirnan
  • Ian Verrall
  • Murray Rusmussen
  • Derek Mills
  • David Parish
  • Peter Corlett



Outstanding Community Service
  • Vera (Milly) Culton
  • Kevin Corney
  • Bruce Gordon
Community Service
  • Raina Davies
  • Heather (Maggie) Read
  • George Capper
  • Leslie Smith
  • Amy Thompson
  • Brian Habberfield-Short
  • Melanie & John Budge


Outstanding Community Service
  • Valerie Sparks
  • Lesley Gordon
Community Service
  • Brian Atger
  • Lorraine Hayward
  • Cheryl Harris
  • Valerie Wallis
  • Jane Robinson
  • Judith Cotton
  • Frances Flaherty

View their contributions to the community



Outstanding Community Service
  • Janie Ikinofo
  • Warwick Buckman
Community Service
  • Terry Watton
  • Rod Coe
  • Elizabeth McMurray
  • Rino Wilkinson
  • Josey & Stephen McKain
  • Jim Sutherland
  • Colleen Marshall
  • Pam Taylor
  • Robin Straker


Outstanding Community Service
  • Miles Shelley
  • Don Challis
  • Mary Carmine
  • Sel Baker
Community Service
  • Gerald Davis
  • Jill Davenport
  • Lawrence Smith
  • Colin and Gloria James
  • Bruce Reddish
  • Robert Butler-August


Outstanding Community Service
  • Alex Quinn
  • Vivien Leonard
  • Kurt Iversen
Community Service
  • Marie Harvey
  • Tom Carden
  • Claire Williams
  • Wendy Turner-Wright
  • Janine van Marrewijk
  • Dennis Blake


Outstanding Community Service 
  • David Thornton Rowe 
  • Ruth Farringdon Ordish 
Community Service
  • Helen & John Wilson
  • Lila Maude Hawkes
  • Lesley Earl Jamieson
  • Hilton & Vivienne Coker
  • Rongomai Wilkinson
  • Elaine Staples
  • Russell Player
  • Ian James Falconer