SceneryCarHouse fade

Hot Topics

Service Request Online

Do you have a Council related problem that requires attention?

Enviro Matters

Waste minimisation and climate change information

Our Home. Our Future. Your Vote.

Ko te pae tawhiti whaia kia tata. Whakanuia tā mātou rohe. Pōti koa mai.

We need to talk

Check out the issues we’re currently seeking feedback on and tell us what you think.

Kerbside Collections

Week 1 begins Monday 15 July 2019

04/07/2018 8:00am

Under sections 19H and 19J of the Local Electoral Act 2001, Hauraki District Council is required to carry out a review of its representation arrangements for the triennial local authority elections to be held in 2019.

On 27 June 2018, Council resolved to adopt as its initial proposal for the representation arrangements review that:

(i) Hauraki District Council comprises nine councillors elected under the ward system, plus the mayor elected at large;
(ii) Hauraki District Council be divided into three wards, these being:

    • Plains Ward (three councillors) being the existing ward comprising the area delineated on LGC-012-2013-W-2 deposited with the Local Government Commission;
    • Paeroa Ward (three councillors) being the existing ward comprising the area delineated on SO Plan 57980 deposited with Land Information New Zealand;
    • Waihi Ward (three councillors), being the existing ward comprising the area delineated on SO Plan 57979 deposited with Land Information New Zealand;

(iii) no community boards be established;
(iv) the reason the total number of councillors is proposed to reduce to nine (plus the mayor) is to provide more effective representation to Hauraki District residents and ratepayers (whilst still ensuring accessibility to a large area made up of populated towns and villages and sparsely populated rural areas).

The three wards, the number of councillors per ward, the ward populations (estimated as at 30 June 2017) and the population ratio per councillor are as follows:

Ward Population Councillors Average % Variation
Plains 6,350 3 2,117 -3.95%
Paeroa 6,150 3 2,050 -6.99%
Waihi 7,340 3 2,447 +11.02%

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the population that each councillor represents must be within the population range of 2,204 plus or minus 10% (1,984 - 2,424).

As the Waihi Ward is marginally non-compliant with fair representation (+/- 10% rule), and if the initial proposal is confirmed by Council as its final proposal, the proposal must be treated as an appeal under section 19V (5) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and referred to the Local Government Commission following the appeal/objection process.


The initial proposal has been submitted for formal consultation, including inviting written submissions for any interested person or organisation in the period from 4 July to 3 August 2018.

Submissions should state your name, address, telephone number and email address (if you have one) and should reach the Council no later than 4.00pm on Friday 3 August 2018.

Submissions should be addressed to: Steve Fabish, Group Manager – Community Services & Development, Hauraki District Council, 1 William Street, Paeroa, or PO Box 17, Paeroa 3640.

Council will read and consider all submissions. Please clearly state if you wish to speak in support of your submission and note that any submission made will be available to the public. Hearings and meetings on the review will be open to the public.

For more information, see the consultation pages on our website:

Langley Cavers
Chief Executive, Hauraki District Council
Phone: 07 862 8609 or 0800 734 834
4 July 2018